New Unesco board gets four-year term

Home » New Unesco board gets four-year term

New members of National Commission for UNESCO

New Unesco board gets four-year term | The Trinidad Guardian

New Unesco board gets four-year term

Thursday, September 8, 2011
Dr Sandra Gift, right, former secretary general National Commission for Unesco T&T, with Marcia Riley, education consultant, left, Susan Shurland, secretary general, and Dr Kris Rampersad, chairman of Unesco board.
Businessman Alfred Aguiton has been appointed to the newly constituted board of the National Commission for Unesco. Aguiton, managing director of All Media Projects Ltd (Ample), was one of 20 professionals in the field of commerce, education, science and technology who education minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh presented with letters of appointment at a ceremony held at the La Boucan at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre on August 17. Former Sunday Guardian editor Dr Kris Rampersad is chairman of the Unesco board that would serve a four-year term. Maureen Manchouck, president of Niherst, and Annette Wallace executive director, Nalis, were but two of the board members that had been retained.
While Cabinet had taken a decision that appointments to state boards would be for a term not more than two years, said Gopeesingh, the Unesco board was serving four. He told directors it was because of the confidence the Government had in their ability to contribute positively to the national transformation of T&T. He admitted that while the installation of the new board took longer, it was because the search was “deep and wide to find a team that would not only carry on the legacy of the National Commission. Each person here was selected on the basis of your demonstrated expertise, commitment and ability to serve the people of T&T.” He made it clear that the Government and people of T&T expected the board to be efficient and cost effective in its delivery of service, while being accountable and transparent
Members of the new board:
Chairman: Dr Kris Rampersad (media, culture and literacy consultant)
Alfred Aguiton (managing director All Media Projects Ltd)
Shayphan Smith (acting operational research officer II, Ministry of Science Technology and Tertiary Education)
Ingrid Ryan-Ruben (director of culture, Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism)
Jacinta Bailey-Sobers (deputy permanent secretary, Ministry of The People and Social Development)
Laura-Marie West (director multilateral relations division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Dr Sandra Gift (head quality assurance unit, office of the board for undergraduate studies, UWI)
Dr Grace Sirju-Charran (senior lecturer, plant sciences, UWI)
Dr Avril Siung Chang (non-formal education)
Maureen Manchouck (president, Niherst)
Marcia Riley (social and human sciences)
Elizabeth Crouch (principal, Maria Regina Grade School)
Annette Wallace (executive director, Nalis)
Iqbal Hydal (key stakeholder)
Vashti Singh (key stakeholder)
Khemraj Pundit (key stakeholder)
Reynold Ramlogan (key stakeholder)
Irving Hoosainie (non-formal education)
Liseli Daaga (key stakeholder)
Susan Shurland (National Commission secretary-general)

Posted in UncategorizedTagged
%d bloggers like this: